Elizabeth Joan Kelly is from Slidell, Louisiana. She graduated summa cum laude in 2005 from Loyola University New Orleans with a B.M. in Music Composition, studying with Mara Gibson and James MacKay. Elizabeth has also studied at the Freie Universitat in Berlin and the Bowdoin International Music Festival with Samuel Adler, and at the Norfolk New Music Workshop with Martin Bresnick. In 2007 she completed her M.M. as a student in composition at the Cleveland Institute of Music studying with Margaret Brouwer.

Elizabeth has received numerous awards, including the Anthony “Val” Valentino Memorial Award from Loyola University, and the Donald Erb award from the Cleveland Institute of Music. String Quartet was winner of the 2007 Ohio Federation of Music Club’s Young Composers Contest, and also received the 2007 Russell and Nancy Hatz Special Recognition Award from the National Federation of Music Clubs. As 2nd place winner in the 2008 Singing City Prize for Young Composers, Elizabeth was commissioned to write a new piece for the ensemble. Another choral work, Tiare Tahiti, was a 2008 winner of the American Composer’s Forum/Vocal Essence Essentially Choral Reading Program, and was read by Vocal Essence in May 2008. The Salt of Winter was selected for inclusion in the Jacksonville Symphony’s Fresh Ink Orchestra Readings in June 2008. “Mornin’ Glory,” was performed at the inaugural concert of the Louisiana Composer’s Forum in September 2010 and subsequently nominated for a Big Easy Tribute to the Classical Arts Award.

Elizabeth’s music has been performed by the Cleveland Chamber Symphony, Vox Novus, members of So Percussion, and by students and young professionals across the United States and Europe.

She is also Digital Programs Manager at Loyola University New Orleans, where she coordinates digitization activities in Special Collections & Archives at the Monroe Library and also serves as the library liaison to the Mass Communication and Music Industry programs. Elizabeth is a Certified Archivist (Academy of Certified Archivists) and a Digital Archives Specialist (Society of American Archivists). Her scholarly work has been published in The Journal of Web Librarianship, Codex, Archival Practice, and other journals and some of her previous conference presentations include the Society of Southwest Archivists Annual Meeting, the Southeastern Music Library Association Annual Meeting, and the Digital Library Federation Forum. She currently co-facilities the Digital Library Federation interest group for Digital Library Pedagogy. Her research interests include digital libraries, archives, assessment, digital scholarship, and information literacy.

Elizabeth currently resides in New Orleans, LA. View her curriculum vitae here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s